An Hour By The Lake

It wasn’t enough time, but it was what I had (and even with the unseasonably warm weather, it was still kind of cold outside). Monday, I had a dentist appointment up north, so it was a quick pass through my old hometown and then a short bit of time to attempt to center myself again by the lake.

2017-02-13-15-19-56

2017-02-13-15-34-11

2017-02-13-15-39-59

I was only there for about an hour. I grabbed a coffee at Caribou and walked down to the ice slicked boardwalk. The air close to the water was crisp, but welcome. Growing up next to a large body of water, it claimed a part of me that the smaller lakes and massive rivers in Minnesota couldn’t quite satisfy. I have no desire to move back, but I find I do still need a fix from time to time. Crazy that I still drive a little more than two hours twice a year* to see the same dentist* that I’ve always seen? It gets me back to the lake. In the summer, I can settle in a little bit and lose myself in the horizon. In the winter, I just enjoy being present in the moment.

Did it help? Tuesday was Valentine’s Day and today I was back at work. The tightness never left my back and my headache has been asserting itself behind my eyes. But for a moment it was nice.

*unless I have to have additional work done.
*well, same office, though his son is now my dentist

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

