Art Progress: The Future is Now

I took some process photos as I was creating “The Future is Now”.

I worked a little differently on this one than I have on some past projects. I started with the skin tones, working lighter to darker (natural process with watercolors, since you can usually go darker, but it’s really hard and sometimes impossible to go lighter again). But then I focused on sections of the image and worked around it that way. Normally, I’m bouncing all over the place. I built up layers slowly and then went back to add washes and additional details later, as the painting was drying.

I completed the central image first and then conceived of the background. I wanted to keep an urban theme, but I didn’t want the painting to go too far in a dystopic direction. And I wanted to keep a more natural vibe intertwined with this “future”. The city I live has some very urban areas, but it also has a lot of green areas too. And when you look at some of the disused areas of places like Detroit, you can see how the natural world is reclaiming some of the city.

I wanted to work these two ideas concurrently, because already with the central image of the girl you can see three very obvious pieces of technology that are part of her natural life … things we have and use right now. The future is uncertain, but that doesn’t mean that it lacks hope. Or a certain style.

I hope you like the pictures.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And the final image, again:

EPSON MFP image

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

