Crossover

I’m a nerd. If you know me at all, you know that. I grew up on a steady diet of cartoons, movies (SciFi / Horror / Action), books, and comics. This is prelude to say that I am stupid excited about the four night crossover of the CW DC shows this week. I already love them (Supergirl and The Flash are pretty regularly my happy place right now).

flashsupergirl

It started in earnest tonight with Supergirl (aside from a few portals appearing and disappearing throughout the episode, it was a “normal” Supergirl episode until the end when Barry and Cisco appear at the end).

Crossovers are fun. In the comics it’s a great way to see two of your favorite characters meet up to fight some bad guy (if it is just an appearance or two in one character’s title, then it’s generally just a team up or a guest appearance, but if it happens across multiple titles … then it’s a crossover). I should say, when done right, they’re fun. In the 1990s when I was still collecting comics (I buy them now, mainly in trades, and while I bag them and keep them nice … well, it’s not the same when you aren’t only thinking about resale value) they got pretty ridiculous pretty fast. Because, often, story was pushed aside for the sake of making money and appealing to the speculators market. Publishers still do big story crossovers, some good some not so good, but with the market shifted the way it has story has more focus because they’re looking at the trade market following the single issues. I mean, there is still a lot of ridiculousness with comics (how many variants do we need and do we need them for all of the titles, every month?) but I’m generally happier overall with the quality of the stories being told. Generally … I read a lot in trades and I haven’t heard good things about Civil War 2 … and Civil War was kinda bullshit.

But, I have been really happy with the CW DC shows and I’m really excited to see all of the characters working together now, especially with the addition of Supergirl to the mix (and the Legends characters, now that they have been evolving on their own as a team away from the rest of the Arrowverse). So, this week the nerd in me is very happy that he can come home Monday through Thursday and watch “Heroes versus Aliens” at 7pm.

dc-week

 

Sometimes, it really is the little things that puts the biggest grin on my face.

000203081-dc-superheroes

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

