Edge Of

I am exhausted.

The city is covered in snow. I wish I could say it was quieting, but this holiday season is already shaping up to be a bit manic.

I’m trying to get past this bug that I’ve had. It’s hanging on just enough to wear me down, make me a little congested and sneeze a bit. And it’s made me very tired. Or maybe that’s just my life? I used a sick day last Friday (I woke up with a wicked headache, after a week of headaches). I went back to sleep, and woke up at 3pm. Saturday, I worked a full day, and then I got drinks at my friend S’s place. She tapped out sometime after midnight, but I stayed up another hour or so with her bf B. It was nice having a nice adult evening with drinks and conversation. Then on Sunday I slept most of the day again. So that happened.

Monday I was a bit more accomplished. Went out for lunch, saw The Edge of Seventeen at the theater (it was SO GOOD. Awkward and funny and sad and moving). Then I swung past the library and went to Caribou and had a coffee and worked on some sketches for a gift.

At the library, I had a copy of The Night Manager come in on reservation. It is such an excellent series! I’m on the last episode right now. Smart spy thriller filled with excellent performances. Loving it. There are about 30 minutes left and it is tense.

Other than that, I put up a Christmas tree and decorated a bit. The snow started falling (Friday there was a messy dusting, tonight there was accumulation and bad driving conditions). Even with, I feel like there is … potential? There is something about the holiday season that I love. It’s like a promise. Even with all of this shit going on. I don’t know what I’m saying. Every night at prior to the performance, carolers come through the lobby and one of the songs they sing is Auld Lang Syne.

Endings and beginnings.

I’m trying to learn how to say goodbye, so that maybe I can say hello.

More later …

 

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

