Steps

Today will end this year’s MN State Fair Submission cycle for me. I was informed last week (bright and early on Wednesday) that my painting was not selected for this year’s Fine Arts competition and today I need to pick it up from the fairgrounds. While I knew that this was the likely conclusion, I’ll admit that I did get my hopes up there for a minute. It’s not an easy thing, putting yourself out there like that. But as artists, we have to keep doing it (see my post on rejection). What I will take away from this year is that I got one step closer to having my work on display at this particular venue. It’s not the only venue and it’s not even the best venue, but it helps to have goals so I made this one of mine.

Other baby steps forward. I’ve started making “connections” with OK Cupid. I probably won’t go into any great detail on here about individual dates and whatnot, though I may do some entries about the general overall process/ horror stories (if there are any). Right now it is all early stages: starting to start chat conversations online with strangers because of mutual “liking”, setting up first dates, etc. I have made a point to front load my nerdery on the site, so that there is no sense of false advertising: I like things, and among the things I like are superhero things (not as taboo anymore), comics/ art, sci-fi/ horror, books (so many books …), movies, etc. Yeah, I like “normal” things too, but I really don’t want someone to expect me to dedicate every Sunday afternoon to watching football games (because while I’m not offended by them and sometimes enjoy them, I really don’t care enough to waste that much time watching the “game”) or Sunday mornings to church services (not going to happen). So, we’ll see. Baby steps.

Tomorrow I have a dentist appointment in Superior (yes, I’m still driving back to my hometown dentist), but that means today I’ll swing past my folks place for the night and tomorrow I’ll get to spend some Lake Superior time in Duluth. I need some Lake Superior time.

Now, time to get my dirty laundry all packed up, my painting all picked up and hit the road.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

