Making Stuff

I recently cleared my desk of the various accumulations that resulted from unpacking my move and time spent not making art. This allowed me to sit at my desk, pull out my watercolors, and make something. It felt amazing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve been a fan of the MN Roller Girls for a number of years and a few years ago, I was in Ireland for the wedding of one of my best friends (he married a Roller Girl). I’ve enjoyed the athleticism and the aesthetic of derby–feminine badass punk. I love the derby names everyone adopts. I decided that derby might make a good subject for a painting. I have since decided that I want to do several Roller Girl paintings. So, consider this a preview of things to come.

Prior to setting up my desk again for painting, I continued to do sketching with ink and with markers. I go through periods where I might do decent work, but I’m not incredibly happy with any of the results. I feel like it is a constant learning process (and sometimes a relearning as I change techniques for a while and then try to go back to something that worked before). Constant practice is important in art, and I don’t think that I’m constant enough.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m still learning with markers, so my results are all over the place. But it is good to keep creating.

I feel like I might be settled enough now that I can start working on additional projects too. I worked on some storyboards with a friend a week ago. I just agreed to do two small watercolors for someone else. And I’ll be designing coloring pages for next season’s productions at CTC.

Upcoming goals for me include entering another painting in the Minnesota State Fair. I entered my astronaut painting for consideration in this year’s addition of Spectrum Arts–it wasn’t selected, so the clock restarts and I have another year to develop work for that publication. I will also be launching my new website this summer.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

