Frequency Disruption

Entries here have been sporadic over the last few years. There are several reasons for that, but the biggest was that I’ve been very happy dating a great girl. I was too busy living life and having many small adventures to write about the stuff as it came. It was great. It ended, or went on a long pause, a couple of weeks ago when B told me that she couldn’t be my girlfriend right now.

I’ve been struggling with readjusting my life to one that doesn’t prominently feature her in it every day (we still see each other, we’re trying to remain friends as she figures stuff out) and on the first day, when it was still at its rawest point, I tried to write about it here. I even got so far as posting the entry and then a couple of minutes later I pulled it down. I didn’t have the distance I needed and it’s not what this journal is about (if it is about anything at all). It is part of my life, but I’ve resisted writing directly about things so closely personal that it didn’t feel right at the time. I’m still not sure that it does, except that it signals a shift in my life. The frequency was disrupted (twice, first by her entering my life and changing me in irreconcilable ways, and then second by her leaving me). I’m not the same person I was before, for better and not.

It all started before so much in my life shifted, before Ireland, before I moved out of Roseville, before a lot. It all started with a grilled cheese sandwich at the Dunn Brothers on Nicollet Ave in Minneapolis. Since then, there was a Twins game, many Saturday night adventures, and then a relationship.

So, now I have to do what I always do, which is keep moving forward.
I have things planned for this blog. Some events to recap and some entries that I want to do about pop culture stuff, observational stuff, things that are coming up and that I’m working towards. Now I have a little more time to write them.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

