focusing

I admire those people who maintain blogs with a sort of singular passion and do it with consistently; those folks who are passionate about photography or interior design and only blog about photography or interior design and do it on a schedule, Mondays and Thursdays without fail.

It should be plain, by now, that I am not one of those people.

I started blogging on LiveJournal, years ago, and those entries were an extension of my private, handwritten journals. I have interests, but I don’t pursue any of them with a diehard singular focus, and I don’t write about them that way either. While I appreciate, follow and love those other blogs, they are, even the personal ones, are pursued professionally. Perhaps, one day, this will also be a professional blog, but I don’t know that I’ll be able to maintain a singular focus. It’ll always be all over the place. It will always vary in length, some passages barely longer than a tweet and others approaching the length of a novella. Maybe someday I’ll post entries like it’s my job. Right now it’s not, and unless the joy (or necessity) of doing is there, I won’t hold a schedule. It’s okay, I don’t have a large audience right now.

*taps mic.*
*hears dead air, light static softly filling the emptiness.*

That being said, I’ve got some ideas, notes jotted in one of my notebooks, on things that I probably will post entries on coming up.

One of the topics that I’ll be exploring over the next few months will be my move. I’m currently living in a two bedroom apartment that’s about 930 square feet. I’ve accumulated 30 years worth of stuff. My place isn’t only fully furnished, but it’s packed full of stuff (predominately books). This fall, I’ll be moving (if currently plans hold) into a small bedroom in my friend’s house. She’s assured me that there is space enough in her basement for all of my books, but I’ve got much more than just books. So, over the next couple of months I’ll be deciding what’s most important, what I need to keep, and what I don’t. This will involve prioritizing my stuff, ascertaining the difference between important memories and the things that I’ve kept out of sentimentality and not out of actual value. In short, in downsizing my life, I’ll be focusing.

In addition to my move, I’ll be going to Ireland at the end of August for the wedding of one of my best (and certainly, my oldest) friend’s. Other than family trips when I was younger to Canada, I’ve never been out of the country before. Ireland is one of those places that I’ve always wanted to go, and it seems especially right that I’m going because of my friend. So, there will be lists and plans and arrangements to be made.

Between now and then, I will begin paying my student loans. Once that begins, I will finally write that post (or several) about my experiences leaving grad school and beginning to repay my debt.

And there’s other stuff. So pay attention, or don’t.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

