dreaming forward

Art is spinning through my brain right now. Putting my little art book out into the world was a little endorphin rush. Hopefully, I’ll make some sales (if you’re reading this, you should buy it–$20 bucks is pretty cheap for all of the art inside and you’ll help support my art habit) but the important thing, is that I’m putting stuff out there. It feels like I’m building something bigger.

On top of my own work, we’re having our annual talent/ art show at work, Cabaret. As you can imagine, showcasing a bunch of artists who work at an arts organization can be a pretty great party. For the second year in a row, I’m curating the art show portion of the event. I’ve been getting the art intentions of my lovely coworkers and have started imagining how to transform one of our lobbies into an art show that does some justice to all this work. I also decided to design some title cards for the art this year to unify the event a little and give everyone an opportunity to share a little bit more of their art story with everyone. I’m just now starting to think about how I’m going to present my own work at this event and it’s fun.

In addition to the curating and displaying in the art show, I’m also sharing some of my writing for the first time this year. I’m going to read one of the stories that I shared at the Cracked Walnut Lit Reading in April. This feels a little different, because while some of my coworkers know that I’ve earned my MFA and have done some writing, none of them have read or heard any of it.

I’ve  started taking baby steps into what is involved in printmaking and selling art. I don’t know what, if anything will come of it, but still, it’s a start.

Also, things are starting to connect in my brain for novel number two. I may be beginning work on it soon. Now to get on with querying agents so that maybe I can get paid to play with words …

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

