tuning fork

Now that summer is emerging from the fog of that endless winter I feel like I’m starting to get some direction back, starting to hear the right frequency. I had a ridiculous cold and then my allergies kicked in, so I’ve been unbelievably tired lately, but still I’ve been creative. I’ve been painting. I’ve got a secret project that I’m cooking up. I have to wait until next week to see how it turned out and then I’ll be making an announcement here and elsewhere.

I’m reading Ben Percy’s new book Red Moon right now. I’m 100 pages from the end. It’s excellent and I think that I’ll post a review when I finish. I’ve been catching movies weekly. Summer blockbuster season and all. So far I haven’t really been let down by the movies I’ve been excited about. Iron Man 3Star Trek Into DarknessFast & Furious 6 … others. They’ve delivered what I expected. I found a lot to enjoy about each.

I caught Loudmouth Collective’s Cul-Du-Sac last week. It was an excellent production, one man playing 9 distinctly different characters (from 13 year old girl to an old, retired veterinarian) all recounting the circumstances behind the narrator’s death. We learn about the man who died and we learn about the neighbors and we learn how people interact and how we view each other. It’s 90 minutes and not one was boring.

That’s all I’ve got right now. I’m watching Hemlock Grove and find myself simultaneously intrigued and bored by it. I’m halfway through it now, so I feel like I’ve committed and should finish. I can’t help but feel that I’ll get to the end and be horribly disappointed (well, not disappointed, because I’m not exactly expecting a whole lot from it, but perhaps a resounding feeling of meh). Thing is I want to like it, or I want to like the thing that it wants to be (feels very much like it aspires to being a 21st century Twin Peeks) but I just feel so ambivalent about it.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

