just move

If I could have done something else, I would have wanted to be a dancer.

Confession: I have an affinity for dance movies (okay, a lot of movies, but if I confessed each type of movie that I loved, we might be here all night). Dance, I think, is one of the purer expressions of the soul. Had I the talent, perhaps I would have pursued it. As an actor, I would say, “I can be choreographed.” Which is true. And I always did alright. But I wasn’t a dancer, my expression found other outlets.

Thing about dancing is, it is outwardly expressing what I think we as artist do in our chosen form. When I dip a brush in paint and pull that color across the paper, or when I’m really jamming on a scene in a story, imagine that dancer on the stage (or dance floor). That’s what it’s like. It’s joy.

Dance movies get me moving, even if my feet aren’t gliding across the floor, there’s a bumping in my core.

So there.

Yesterday, I typed up all four stories that were scribbled in my notebook. Now I just have to read through them and decide which one(s) will debut on Saturday.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

1 Comment

One thought on “just move”

Leave a Reply

