Snow’d

Well, it’s officially a Minnesota Winter™ — it snowed last night, and this morning, and it’s still snowing. Now, snow is pretty and all, especially as it’s first falling, but once it’s on the ground (unless you live for winter sports like skiing and snowboarding and snowmobiling) it’s a major pain in the ass. Traffic begins to creep more slowly, as everyone has forgotten how to drive, parking lots become some abstract art piece, as everyone has forgotten how to park properly … and patches of ice hide under those pretty white flakes waiting to ruin the rest of your day.

But still, it looks gorgeous, and what’s more, it feels right for December and for Christmas.

I’ve always loved Christmas, but some years the way my holiday spirit manifests fluctuates. Sometimes the Christmas tunes playlist on my iPod starts getting heavy rotation on the day after Thanksgiving and sometimes it won’t make an appearance until I’m driving to my folks place a couple of days before Christmas. Christmas movies always make an appearance, however, and I’ve got quite the eclectic collection, a collection that I’m supplementing with flicks I’m finding on Netflix and Amazon Instant this year. The most important element of my movie watching is, very similar to a proper mixtape (hey kids, remember those, they were like a hard plastic version of an iTunes playlist, but much harder to create … ask your parents), variety. Some Christmas movies are all about elves and Santa, some are about families, some are overly sentimental and some are biting and cynical. Variety keeps the list fun and fresh.

So, my DVD collection (√ next to the ones that I’ve watched already):

√ Elf
  The Holiday
  The Nightmare Before Christmas
  The Ref
  Four Christmases
  The Family Stone
  Love, Actually
  Lethal Weapon
Die Hard
  Die Hard 2
Kiss Kiss Bang Bang
The Long Kiss Goodnight
This Christmas
Unaccompanied Minors
Fred Claus
Just Friends
National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
√ Scrooged
  The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Additionally, I’ve already watched Christmas CupidThe 12 Dates of ChristmasRare Exports and Toys on Netflix/ Amazon Instant. I’ve got a ton more queued up, including Meet Me in St. Louis (which, I’ve never seen), Santa Claus: The MovieSnowSnow 2NoelOne Magic ChristmasHoliday in HandcuffsEight Crazy Nights (I’ve got to represent Hanukah too), Jack FrostA Christmas Tale, Joyeux Noel and others … there are a lot of ABC Family flicks represented, but those can be a lot of fun too. I did a double feature one night of The 12 Dates of Christmas, which is like Groundhog Day set on Christmas Eve where Bill Murray is played by Amy Smart and Andie McDowell is played by Mark-Paul Gosselaar, and Rare Exports, which is a Finnish film about reindeer herders who, led by a young boy, have to prevent the real Santa Claus from folklore (evil bastard who steals naughty children and punishes them) from being released from his mountain prison by an idiot billionaire American. Nice counterpoints, and two good flicks (though, of the two, Rare Exports is the only one that’s also a good film.

I’ve also got a handful of Christmas movies on reserve at the library (hopefully, they’ll be available in December …) including Bad SantaA Very Harold and Kumar ChristmasPrep & Landing and a few others. I’m first reservation on each (if a flick had more than one ahead of me, then I didn’t bother because there’s no way that’s getting to me before February).

There are a couple more flicks that I’ll probably watch when I get to my folks place, because my mom will want to watch them too (White ChristmasHoliday InnIt’s a Wonderful Life) but that’s it in a nutshell. I’m not adding A Muppet Christmas Carol to my list this year, because I don’t have a copy (the last time I saw it was on a copy that I bought as a gift for a friend).

So, what’s your favorite Christmas movies? What about your favorite Christmas traditions? Let me know in the comments below!

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

1 Comment

One thought on “Snow’d”

  1. My favorite Christmas tradition is watching Christmas movies, too, but you are way ahead of me this year. I’ve only managed Elf, Die Hard, and Home Alone so far. It’s A Wonderful life is my favorite (probably my favorite movie in general), so I know I’ll at least get to that, too. Hopefully Scrooged, National Lampoon’s, and Love Actually as well.

Leave a Reply

