Scribbles

If you venture over to my website at walkingtobars.com I have a section there called “doodles”. I’ve been drawing and painting most of my life, but it has seldom been my primary focus. For a while I thought that I would minor in art at undergrad, but for several reasons,  none of which having anything to do with my actual art, I decided against it. Most of these have been posted elsewhere, on Facebook, my Twitter or on Tumblr, but I thought that I’d share them all here as well. Here are some of the scribbles from the last few months:

 

This is a painting that I did as a gift.

 

This is a small sketch that I did last summer. I may have posted it here before.

 

Another small sketch from last summer.

 

I decided to try to do more watercolor sketches in a notebook. This is the first.

 

Another early watercolor sketch in my notebook.

 

cat, watercolor

 

panda doodle in ink, for a friend

 

part of a series of quick pen sketches in my notebook, this one is of Tom Waits

 

part of a series of quick pen sketches in my notebook.

 

part of a series of quick pen sketches in my notebook

 

part of a series of quick pen sketches in my notebook (this one is also a self portrait)

 

part of a series of quick pen sketches in my notebook

 

part of a series of quick pen sketches in my notebook

 

part of a series of quick pen sketches in my notebook

 

part of a series of quick pen sketches in my notebook

 

part of a series of quick pen sketches in my notebook

 

part of a series of quick pen sketches in my notebook

 

part of a series of quick sketches i did in my notebook

 

Halloween sketch

 

I like to experiment with different ways to use my tools – this sketch was done with water and Elegant Writer pens.

 

my first experiment with Elegant Writer pens and water

 

Another pen sketch where I manipulated Elegant Writer pens with water.

 

Drawing the Joker. This was a quick notebook sketch. I’ll be doing a commissioned piece for a friend for Christmas this year.

 

The Joker, done with a G4 ink pen on a notecard. An initial sketch for a commission I’m doing this Christmas for a friend.

 

This year I decided to try sculpting my halloween pumpkin for the first time. This is the result.

 

And this is me signing off on my drawings …

 

More later …

 

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Scribbles”

Leave a Reply

