for my friends, who are not white

I have been angry. I’ve been searching for the words to express my anger. About what happened to Trayvon Martin. About what happens to so many people. Because they’re black. Or Hispanic. Or Muslim. What happens to them in this country because they are not caucasian, because they are not white, because they are not the Christian.

I’m tired of it. My friend, Samuel G. Roberson Jr. posted earlier today on his Facebook page that we have to stand up for Trayvon, even if it happens every day on our corner, even if no one stood up for us. I’m using his words, because i’m white. I’ve never been targeted or followed because I wore a hoodie. Or because I was walking. Or because I was there.

There is a line in the play we are presenting right now: “Why didn’t you stand up to them? If you had, none of this would have happened.”

Yes, we need to stand up. We also need to stay on our feet.

Geraldo Rivera suggested that Trayvon was asking for it because he wore a hoodie. Because wearing a hoodie made him a “gangsta wannabe”. That’s like saying that she deserved to be raped because she wore a blue dress.

I am tired of this shit. I’m tired of it. I’m pissed off that Florida apparently condones murder, that they “declined to arrest” Mr. Zimmerman because of their Stand Your Ground law. I’m tired of the Right Wing echo chamber that is trying to form a narrative where somehow Trayvon asked to be murdered, where it was somehow his fault and not the fault of the man who was holding the gun–a gun that he was licensed to carry concealed.

This video is something that Mr. Jackson recorded a few years ago. Roger Ebert posted it on his website earlier because he felt it applied to Mr. Zimmerman, the man who shot Trayvon because he was wearing a hoodie. Walking home from the 7-11. Carrying an Arizona Iced Tea and Skittles.

There are so many reasons why Trayvon was killed. None of them were Trayvon’s fault.

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

