chicago

Greetings from the Field Museum in Chicago!

So, it’s been a busy week. We closed up our latest show over the weekend, I finished the schedule, and on Sunday I worked Rock the Cradle. 15,000 people came through this year–an incredible turnout and an incredibly tiring day. But it was a fantastic event, lots of families having an amazing time, AND I got to see Josh and Meg (and their kids). I haven’t seen them since Ruby, their older daughter, was still all cozy in Meg’s belly. Time really does fly.

Sunday night, I struggled to keep my eyes open (this meant that I did nothing on my novel polish … more on that in a second) and then I went out to Maxwell’s to celebrate Tiff’s 30th birthday. It was fun, even though we were all horribly exhausted. I was in bed by 11:30.

Monday I got up in the morning (I know, right!?) By 9am, I had cut my hair. Then I spent the rest of the day at my desk finishing my novel polish. The idea was that I’d reread it quick and grab any of the little grammatical/ spelling mistakes that pop up. Turns out it was really a 4th (really 5th, but I’m calling it 4th) draft that I did in a week (half of which I did on Monday). Yikes. After I finished it, I double checked the formatting to make sure I wouldn’t have any blank pages or chapters that snuck up on the bottom of the previous page. Then at 7, I went over to FedEx/ Kinkos and printed the whole damn thing out ($100 for two copies–thank god I changed the line spacing to 1.8 instead of 2 … otherwise it would have been another 100 pages to print at 11 cents a copy). I got them in the mail, grabbed lunch/dinner at 8:30 and made it home in time to eat it in front of Castle. I also managed to chat with my parents on the phone in there as well.

At 10, I packed for Chicago. Went over my list and checked it twice. Fell asleep around 1:30.

Tuesday morning I got up at 5:30am. Zack picked me up for the train station at 6 … then I waited. The train was delayed. We didn’t board until around 9:30 and the train didn’t leave until 10. This meant that instead of arriving in Chicago at 3, I got here at 7. I caught a cab to the hotel and then checked in. I went down for dinner around 8, but Kitty O’Shea’s was closed for the evening and instead of trying to get a table at 720 I opted to grab a sandwich and salad from the snack shop … that and a Starbucks Mocha cost me $24 … this is going to be an expensive week. There was a charge for internet and I was too tired to figure out how to find the regular TV channels, so I bought one of the cheap movies on the Hilton’s Pay-Per-View: Something Borrowed, a severely mediocre movie. I’ve long thought that Genifer Goodwin was too good for the quirky best friend role that she plays so well, but she is also too good for this material. But then, no one was well served by this movie. I turned everything off around 11:30 and crashed.

Woke up unprompted this morning around 6:30. Managed to roll over and drift off again until 8. Then I got up, had a mediocre cup of hotel coffee and headed out for the Field Museum.

Today is gorgeous! It is 55 degrees out and sunny. It was a very pleasant walk from the hotel to the museum and I’ve spent the day running all over the place here. Really, there is too much too see. I had to finally take a short coffee brake to plug in my phone and I’m taking that opportunity to write this entry. I’m tweeting and Facebooking my trip as I go, so if you know me there, check it out. Facebook gets the photos. I’m also trying out a public Twitter account again … don’t know how long that’ll last. I’m @demipho on Twitter, if you’re so inclined.

Well, more to see (and we haven’t even gotten to AWP yet …)

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

