fresh air

God, I love autumn. I enjoy summer a great deal; it’s my second favorite season and really hard to beat with it’s long, lazy afternoons, lazing in the sun and drinking cold beverages–hard to get away from that immense sense of freedom that came from leaving school in June for all the possibilities that summer had. But I always like to go back to school as well. I love the warm autumn days coupled with the crisp ones. I love the summer green giving way to the rich golden and red hues. I love the skeletal trees for Halloween and the feeling of contemplation that November seems to bring with it. Autumn seems to be a season to consider things.

Of course, I’m not crazy about winter following quickly on autumn’s heels. The first snow fall is nice (hell, the first couple aren’t bad) and it’s hard to argue with sipping hot chocolate and coffee (or combining them in my favorite beverage: a vanilla mocha, peppermint mocha for the holidays, of course). But winter seems to set in, once the snow falls, it grips you in it’s icy embrace and threatens to never let go (and in Minnesota, it feels like a legitimate threat every year …). Sure, spring comes eventually and everything blossoms again, but spring is also very wet. I love rain, but I could do without all the additional muck involved. And with a long winter, lots of things get lost in the snowbanks that are found in the muck when the snow has melted.

So, it is autumn and summer for me. Summer is on its last days, drifting away, and autumn has returned.

Life continues on, you know? My brain is split between my day job and my dreaming job. This evening, my dreaming job involved scribbling notes in my notebook, asking questions and expanding my fictional universe. I really need to attack the first draft of my novel with my vicious red pen of justice, but while it’s sitting in my bag I can still imagine around the idea that I created. Once I dive in again, I’ll be back in the sentence to sentence framework of the story. The latticework will still be woven with the blossoming of all the weird and fantastical ideas that I’m cooking up, but it will still be held together with the structure. Some of the things that I’m scribbling will never solidify into a tangible portion of this creepy little world that I’m creating, and some of them will spring up down the road in the second book or the third. Right now, it’s all possible because it’s all dreams.

Talk about weird: my day job involves a anthropomorphic pig who is enamored with toast and my dreaming job involves creepy crawly things in the shadows.

I’m having a hard time getting enamored with anything that’s playing at the movie theater right now. Sure, there are some things I want to see … I just don’t seem to want to see them enough to go see them. Some of the flicks that I want to see don’t have showings for me, by which I mean, they might have a 3D version playing when I can/ want to go, but the 2D version is relegated (if it’s playing at all) to an inaccessible time. Given how people seem to be rebelling against 3D, this seems to be a very callous way of movie studios saying “fuck you” to the general population and trying to force us to pay more for a product that, even though they insist that we do, we do not want.

All of these things swirling around in my headspace has made me think about several things, sort of random, but I’ll bulletpoint it:

~Art is not a product, but a product can be art. You can’t sell or make a living off of artistic concept. But what you can do is make something, a product (a painting, a book, a film) that is artistic. It doesn’t have to be one or the other. You can approach a product as what it is, a product that you want to sell, and still make it artistically vibrant. It doesn’t matter how wonderful or artistic a book, a play, or a film is if it never finds an audience. The purpose of these things is to be interacted with–to be read or viewed. If you have made it inaccessible in your “artistic vision” than your vision is in some way flawed.

~Small audiences are okay. Dedicated audiences are okay. You just have to understand that you can’t spend as much if you aren’t going to get as much back. A movie shouldn’t be a failure if the audience that finds it isn’t as big as you want it to be. A movie shouldn’t be judged by how much money it makes. Shitty movies can make a lot of money and wonderful movies can make shitty money. Did it find it’s audience? Did you, as the maker of the movie, misjudge it’s audience and put yourself in the position of losing money by spending too much money doing the wrong things? Does a movie need to cost $300 million dollars? Should any movie have to make $300 million dollars for it to be considered worthwhile? By not making as much as you think something should make should not be a judgment on whether or not that product was valid, but rather on whether or not the process in making that product was. Everything isn’t for everybody and we need to stop thinking that it is.

~Social media should be accessible. You shouldn’t have to run into a situation where it doesn’t work for you because “you’re doing it wrong”. If the purpose of the platform is to connect people for the purpose of easy communication and sharing of things, you shouldn’t have to force it to work. If you’re forcing it, then it isn’t accessible. Also, stop changing stuff if it’s working fine. Facebook, this means that I want the old link function back. Your newest status options suck.

~In a Michael Bay movie there is nothing more pure that people looking out windows, children running in a pack around a small town, a couple coming together. In fact, these things are so pure that they should always be devoid of context, occur in brilliant golds and turquoises, and never be followed up on.
Also, when giant robots are battling, humans are completely inconsequential unless the robot has adopted you like a pet (I’m looking at you Shia). This is the thing that will save or destroy the universe, let’s give it to this cute little dog who will know how to protect it and keep it safe.

That’s all I’ve got. My brain, I think, is largely mush right now and I’ve wrung out all the good bits for this entry.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

