line in the sand

Today, I finished the first draft of hush. Draft one is 107,104 words long (about 428 pages). I started this draft at page one, word one at the end of June with an end goal of 100,000 words (I’ve written variations on the first 50 or so pages before, but in June I started typing fresh, changing content and story as I went) which means that I managed to write this draft in just under two months.

Let me say that again, I wrote the first draft of my book in just under two months.

When I finished today (writing this afternoon at the Roseville Dunn Bros on Fairview–other days I’ve written at the Dunn Bros in the Roseville branch of the Ramsey Public Library, the cafe at the Barnes and Noble at the Har Mar Mall, and in my apartment at my desk) I took a breath, saved the manuscript to my flash drive and then went over to the AMC at Rosedale and caught the 7:20 showing of Conan the Barbarian (it’s a silly movie that I enjoyed very much).

Tomorrow, I may spend some of the day reading.

Then, (in more ways than one) break’s over. I’ve crossed one line in the sand, the next is still out there. Draft two isn’t going to write itself.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

