wee small hours

So, Zack has been working long days. He has a reason to be tired, right? So, what’s my excuse?

Well, for one: I’m still fucking awake.

I have a tendency to not be able to sleep, or rather, if I fall asleep before midnight I find that I wake up constantly through the night. So, I don’t fall asleep before midnight. Or one. Or two.

What do I do with this time? Am I productive? The answer is no, and yes. Last summer I did a series of midnight sketches, watercolors that took an hour or two that I did around midnight. Sometimes I watch movies or television in my queue. I’ll take notes on stories I’m working on (sometimes I’ll work on the actual stories, but mainly my mind is a little too mushy for anything that in depth prolonged over multiple days). Most of the time I skulk around online. I poke into the far corners, shine a flashlight around, and see if anything is there to poke back. I’ll flip through blogs I’ve bookmarked and follow link after link until I’ve definitely taken a wrong turn somewhere and I find one of those things that one finds online that one is not able to unsee.

I’ll not elaborate.

There is a ghost-like element to letting my brain drift in the late/ early hours. With the extra static that fatigue brings with it, sometimes you can hear extra signals in the noise, stuff that you wouldn’t have heard otherwise when the static is a full broadcast of other people’s shit during the day. In the dark quiet, the ears still humming from all the noise vibrations from all those interactions throughout the day, sometimes things become clearer.

And sometimes they fog up more and one finds themselves writing a pointless blog entry.

2 am now. Definitely time to turn my brain off.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

2 Comments

2 thoughts on “wee small hours”

  1. I experience this time of night/morning so rarely these days. But last night I stayed up until 2am with my little girl who just wasn’t tired. That fuzziness set in. I surfed the web. People were doing the same. It felt like a secret club, all of us unobtrusively looking around in cyberspace. I didn’t know you were out there, too. Nor did I know you had your own blog! LOL.

    1. it does feel like a secret club, sitting in the dark being bathed in the glow from a laptop screen, exploring … and that’s when you find things. i mean, you find things during the day, but when you are more unconsciously surfing in cyberspace when everyone else in your hemisphere is asleep it feels different and you feel things differently. facebook isn’t getting refreshed as much, the twitter stream slows down (unless you follow heavily across the globe) and the poking around feels like you’re unearthing things. this is blog 2.0. i don’t widely publicize it due to an issue that arose from blog 1.0. i’m also on tumblr, same name, though that is more of a notebook to collect images and quotes (something tumblr does better than wordpress).

Leave a Reply

