keeping it busy

One week out of class and it’s been pretty consistently busy. Lots of coming and going.

Keeping pretty steady at work, the show is popular which is making the end run a little less crazy. Helps keep things running smoothly. It’s been nice not having homework to do, but I’ve been trying to not to drop off on my reading. I’ve finished Richard Kadrey’s Sandman Slim (thought it was a pretty terrific book too: lean and mean and nasty, a nice supernatural noir). I’m reading China Mieville’s The City & The City right now–Mieville is coming to B&N at the end of the month and I’m planning to catch him speak.

Last week I saw Thor with Zack (perfectly slick Marvel movie, highly enjoyable). Thursday night went over to Tiff and Meaghan’s for burgers and baked alaska (courtesy of Kristy). Friday after work I went to Elsie’s to celebrate Katie’s  birthday and caught up with some folks I haven’t seen for a while. Held down a table with Bob (while enjoying a Glenlevit and a Bombay Martini), saw Jane again (we meet again every couple of years), chatted with Billie Jo and Katie and listened to some karaoke singing (some of it pretty decent, some of it pretty terrible). Saturday and Sunday were long work days and then last night after work I went over to Maxwell’s for the annual Forever Ever Party (held every time Tiff leaves to go to Wichita or Phoenix or wherever she has an out of town gig).

Today was a recovery day (and after last week and the week before when I wrote my lyric essay) I needed it. Chatted with Tiff some today, watched some episodes of SGU on Netflix, went to the library for a bit, and watched the season finale of Castle (wow, what a fantastic way to end a season–can’t wait to see how they pick it up in the fall!).

Tomorrow, I’ve got a short shift for one of our programs at work and then Katie and I may be going to some meet & greet subtle fundraising thing at Jane’s parents’ house for her boss. Or, I’ll be hanging out with Tiff for the last time before she leaves. Wednesday night Zack and I are going to The Cedar to see Zoe Keating play (fabulous cellist) and Thursday night we’re going to see Donald Glover perform at The Varsity. Then another full week of work.

Still need to finish putting together my prospectus and meet with my advisor so that I can officially sign up for Thesis in the fall.

That’s it for now.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

