“what is with today, today?”

Tiff woke me up at 10:30am. This sounds kind of stupid, why would I not already be up? Well, last night I was up until 3am. Again. This is what happens when I don’t have to be somewhere at a given time during the day, my hours … shift. All week, I’ve gotten up around 11 or 12 though, so it hasn’t really been all that detrimental.

Today I got up at noon. I called Tiff back, we made plans. I took a shower. Last night I went to B&N to do some reading, both for class, for me and for background on my novel. Done and done. Then I came home and watched Ghost in the Shell, the original movie, from 1995. The redux version with the new CGI is still in my queue on netflix. I’ll watch it later.

Books I bought last night: Where She Went by Gayle Forman, The Fifth Witness by Michael Connelly, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle.

I also ran into Julia and we had a nice little chat in the cafe.

After I showered today, Tiff picked me up and we went over to the mall and got some lunch. First stop was Panera which was unreasonably busy for us. We then went to Potbelly’s and got some sandwiches. We both generally dislike the mall on the weekend. After lunch we saw the new version of Arthur with Russell Brand, Helen Mirren, Jennifer Garner and Nick Nolte. I really enjoyed it. It was well filmed, well acted, funny and felt sincere.

We swung past Sephora to get her a brush and then Borders and Half Price Books (I was looking for If I Stay, also by Gayle Forman, and the book to which Where She Went is a sequel). Neither place had the book. She dropped me at home and went off to call her dance show.

I got some dinner at Target, found that book there, and then came home and ate my dinner (lobster bisque and a salad, with a nice Sauviougn Blanc), re-watched the original Arthur (I tend to forget that I’ve seen it, it was rather ubiquitous on Comedy Central when I was growing up and I’m not sure that I’ve ever seen it completely in order before, as so many movies tended to start before I started watching them or I left before they ended) and did my taxes.

My taxes are now filed. The bottle of wine is gone. I found that for all the fine qualities of the original film, I think that I prefer the remake.

Now, I need to do much reading. Suddenly, I find that it is after ten on Saturday night and I still have so much to do before Monday … story of my life.

The spring show starts next week. Not really all that thrilled about going back, but it is what it is. Gotta get through this spring and then dive into the deep end on my novel and not stop swimming until the damn thing is done. Also, need to fill out necessary paperwork for starting thesis in the fall–argh, so much to do!

Right, off to crank up the iPod and get in between some pages.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

