reprieve

So, part of New Year’s Eve was tough.  But that’s okay.  I’ve since posted on my tumblr and my facebook a phrase that is very true, that I came up with, and that I think will find it’s way into one of my books:  “We adjust.  We move forward.  We do not forget.”  I’m not going to go into it any deeper than that, not online, not here.

Yesterday was a pretty good day, if not nearly unbearably freezing.  I slept until I woke up and then I lounged until I was ready to go out.  I got a late lunch at Potbelly’s and then hurried over to the theater to see How Do You Know, which is wildly uneven, but a little bit endearing because it it.  I appreciate James L. Brooks’ films because they sometimes try to bite off too much, they sometimes bounce between more than one genre of picture, and they sometimes don’t tell the obvious story in an easy way.  Any way that I can think to alter this film would have landed it in a predictable formula and I liked that even though you kind of knew how it would turn out, you didn’t know exactly how it would turn out.  It was ridiculously cold, so I decided against staying out any later and instead, stopped at Target to get a peppermint mocha from the Starbucks and get some breakfast pasteries, and then finally watched the Battlestar Galactica miniseries.  Holy frak was it good.  The entire series is on Netflix Instant, so I’ll be watching all of those now, as time allows.

Last night I fell asleep on my couch listening to piano music on Pandora (now synced up with my blu-ray).  I woke up this morning, but still spent a good portion of the day on my couch under blankets.  I need rest, I need naps, I need a break.  But I’m not going to get one.  I finally got myself going in the afternoon, watched an episode of BSG and then went over to B&N for a coffee and reading time.  I read more from A Box of Matches by Nicholson Baker and I ready my friend Caity’s play.  Baker’s book is a little bit tedious because nothing really happens in it (I’m reading it for a class that starts tomorrow).  Caity’s play was excellent–I don’t know how many drafts she is in currently, but it’s an excellent play and I didn’t have too many notes.  I’m so excited to see the things she’ll create, she is incredibly talented (and gracious, she let me name a character after her in my book).

This evening I went over to Grumpy’s in Minneapolis for Meaghan’s birthday (it was last Thursday, but a mixture of show insanity and ice storms postponed celebrations until tonight).  It was fun.  Now, it’s late.  I think I’ve made the decision to not watch another episode of BSG by writing this … it is almost 2 am now.  I’m tired, but I’m not sure I’m ready for bed.  Sigh.

Tomorrow, my Chronology and Time in Fiction class begins.  It’ll be my first and only J-term class while at Hamline.  The class only lasts the month of January, is 2 credits, and will happen on Monday and Wednesday nights … I’m used to having January free between the Fall and Spring terms (and all the work they bring) so this may be a little trying for me.  I also have to find time to work on writing my book.  By the end of summer I need to have at least the first draft done.  There’s a long way to go between here and there.  Summer will be busy I think …

Anyway, I think I might turn the music back on and close my eyes on the couch again.  The Pandora channel from last night was nice.  Anyway, it’s going to be another pretty full week, I think.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

