Easy A

I just got back from watching Easy A at the theaters.  I almost didn’t go, but I’m glad that I did.

So, I’ve been incredibly busy lately–I’ve got new responsibilities at work, we’ve just opened one show and we have another opening next week, and I have class going full tilt.  I’ve been tired.  This pace in crazy and I feel like I’m working twice as hard even though I’m clocking in at 40 or less (the very notion of getting things in under this sort of deadline I think is adding to the exhaustion) and I feel like I’m going to run into a wall.  It’s really about managing my time and since I’m jumping from thing to thing my brain is having trouble keeping up and is sometimes focusing on several things at once.  ARGH!

But that’s life in the bigs.

So, tonight I went to see this flick.  I was going to go with Tiff, but she didn’t get out of rehearsal in time to make it, so I went alone.  Almost didn’t, was halfway there and I thought, well, if I turn around I can pop Robocop in and pass out in my chair again … but I didn’t and I went and I’m glad I did, because it was fucking hysterical.  Laughed through the whole thing.  Very quotable.  Emma Stone is fantastic.

I needed that.  Between the crunch at work and trying to get the homework stuff done, it feels like I’m not actually winding down.  I’ve popped movies in, but it feels a little bit like homework watching them since they all have a deadline (one week and then back to the library).  Tuesday I was invited to go see a free screening of The Social Network, a flick I really want to see.  Even though I still had a bunch to read I was going to see it.  I got out of work around six and had some errands to run first.  When it got to be just after seven and I was only just then sitting down to eat, I had to text my friend and tell her that I wouldn’t be able to make it.  I decided to just go home and work on my reading instead.  So, I got home and sat down with my big book of Grimm and …

fell asleep.  Passed the fuck out in my chair.  I have no recollection of plugging my computer or my phone into their respective chargers, putting my book and assorted things into my bag, or changing into PJs … out cold.  For fourteen hours.  That’s right, I crashed out around 8 pm and slept until about 11 am the next morning.  And I was still tired.  Last night I had to do more of the reading that I hadn’t gotten to, due to my impromptu coma, and was therefore up until nearly 2 again.  This morning I was speeding through the rain trying to get into work for a meeting at 10 (downpours today, people suddenly lost their ability to drive properly causing them to a. go to fucking fast, hydroplane, and then slow way the fuck down, or b. just plain drive too fucking slow).  Frustrating.  But I got to work, zoomed around all day (meeting, schedule, meeting, project, argh!) and then I left and zoomed off to class (traffic!  rain!).  By the time I got done with class I was both wired and exhausted.  Sigh.

So, Mary confirmed tonight that she would be my advisor (!) for thesis.  It feels good to have that taken care of.  Now I just have to finish writing the damn book.  Now that I’ve got that locked up, I’ve got an inkling as to who I’ll ask to be my outside reader as well.  Things are starting to come together.  Now if I could just suddenly become independently wealthy I’d be set.  If only.

Okay, my mind is starting to crash and my brain is once again becoming mush.  Tomorrow I’ve got  a shit-ton of stuff to do, got a show to work, and then two shows on Saturday before I get a day off.  Hanging with Angela on Saturday night, probably lying very low on Sunday.  Next week is madness, Monday through Sunday straight and then we’ll see what I’ve got after … the schedule still needs to get finished!

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

