how it goes

This week seemed to slip away from me and my best intentions.  Best intentions seems like a joke, we’ll go instead with vague plans and goals.  What I did do:

I watched some movies.  They were expiring off of my Netflix instant queue and it seemed the thing to do.  I watched Star Trek 2: The Wrath of Khan, Star Trek 3: The Search for Spock, and Star Trek 4: The Voyage Home.  I spread these over the course of a day, dipping out between Khan and Spock, and painting a picture (that I’m fairly convinced is crap) during Spock and finishing during Voyage.  Also had a long chat online with Megan during this marathon as well.  Sometime during the course of the week I also watched 48 Hrs, Another 48 Hrs, Eddie Izzard’s comedy special Glorious, Demetri Martin’s comedy special Person, a silly teen flick called Dirty Deeds, My Best Friend’s Girl, and Bright Lights, Big City.

I also painted another picture, one of a couch, last night.  I have no idea why I painted a couch.  I have no idea what I think of said couch picture except that I managed to paint two pictures this week and that makes me happy.

Tuesday I walked around Lake Calhoun with Megan.  We almost did two laps, but on the beginning of the second we decided instead to walk into Uptown and get a bite to eat and sit.  We eventually ended up at a small Italian place (whose name I sadly forget, though it is across the street from Barbette) for their late afternoon happy hour.  She had a glass of the Cabernet and I had two chilled glasses of Chardonnay, appeasing my inner Hemingway.  We shared a serving of spinach and artichoke dip (really quite good, though the bread–not sure if it was fried flat bread or tortilla wasn’t the best compliment–I’ve always preferred slices of bread or toast with the dip).  It was a lovely afternoon.  I left the afternoon with a couple of nasty blisters on my feet (I wore inappropriate shoes–Converse One Stars slide around WAY too much on the feet) with which I then did what I always do and not only pop them, but remove the outer skin.  This I (finally learned) is not the appropriate thing to do.  Apparently, if the blisters aren’t too bad the fluid will reabsorb.  If the blisters are bad enough to need to be drained, then you are only supposed to drain them because that extra skin is essential for healing the new skin underneath.  After learning this online I also found some recommendations on products to help blisters in any state heal (and provide the luxury of walking on them until they do).  I bandaged my foot, limped across the street to Target and got a bunch of supplies (I re-cleaned my feet with rubbing alcohol and hydrogen peroxide and then applied Band-Aide brand blister cushions that work great.  They’re supposed to be waterproof and wearable for several days (I had to replace the first set yesterday morning, but that may have been due to an error in application).  We’ll see how they fare today (I’m going walking again with Megan).

I’ve also been trying to figure out the course of my novel project.  I think I’ve figured out a basic story map and how the story should flow.  I think I’m also going to write it in the third person (everything that I’ve dabbled with so far has been first person, except for one class exercise that I did last spring that was in second person).  But I haven’t done much actual writing on it this week.  One scene, a conversation really between my protagonist and someone he knows.  There are so many things to discover and I’ve been a little distracted.

I’m still a little riled up from a brief chat last night.  I’m not going to go into it, but I got pretty angry–actually shaking.  Sometimes being an adult is hard.

That’s what I’ve got now.  More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

