fault line

As evidenced by the photos below, I was at Barnes and Noble this evening at the Justin Cronin reading/ presentation/ signing for his new book The Passage.  Most of the time I don’t get a photo with the author when I’m at these events, but I’m thinking I might start to add to these blogs I’m writing.  My Droid Eris is very handy in this regard, as it allows me to post directly from my phone.  When I send it to posterous, it’ll post not only here, but also to my tumblr account.

Today I also finished reading Barry Eisler‘s book Fault Line (the next book featuring the Treven brothers will be out at the end of the month and he’ll be in town on July 7th at Once Upon A Crime–a fantastic bookstore in Minneapolis that specializes in mysteries and thrillers).  I’m not sure what I’m going to tackle next.  I finished Walter Kirn’s book Up In The Air earlier this week and I’ve got a bookmark in Anthony Bourdain’s book Kitchen Confidential and am enjoying that one a lot, but I have a couple more mysteries and thrillers that have been sitting on my shelf for a while.  I’ll probably slip Bourdain’s book into my bag for tomorrow and get going on some of the others this weekend or the beginning of next week.

Tomorrow is my last day at work for a while and I really need the break.  The way it looks right now I’ll have enough vacation to take me through the 12th of July and I’ll be back at work on 1 August (at 48 weeks that means I’ll be off for four week–I had originally assumed that it would be 4 weeks after my vacation was up, but that makes very little sense since I’m owed the vacation time that I’ve earned and accumulated.  It still could go the other way though since not everything has made sense lately–I’ve watched too many people get laid off this spring).  Saturday is Rock the Garden and Zack invited me along.  Sadly I can’t go.  I’ve already promised to help my friend Meaghan move into Tiff’s apartment.  I could break the plans, but I try not to be a douche.  I said I’d help and I will.  Besides, my dad will be at the car show that day at the fairgrounds and after he’s done there we may get dinner.  Sunday Megan (not a typo, a different friend named Megan–I have several) will be coming over and we’re going to gorge ourselves on movies.  I’d thought that maybe we’d get Big Bowl for dinner, but she’s decided to become a pescetarian, so I don’t know if that jives with her new food ethos.  Regardless, I’m looking forward to spending the day with her.

Monday I head north to my parents’ house in McGregor.  I’ll be there through the week (dentist appointment on Wednesday, so I’ll be going to Duluth on that day–hopefully it’s sunny).  After that … I don’t know.  Up to Zack’s parents’ lake house at some point.  Also need to write (see earlier list).  That’s what I’ve got right now.  Just finished watching Law Abiding Citizen (as a movie, solid meh–engaging for the most part, but ultimately unsatisfying).  Now, to bed.  I have to work in the morning.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

