searching for silence

There is so much noise right now, everywhere.  The oil is spilling, gushing into the ocean.  It’s pouring over everything, suffocating life, and oozing up on the coastline.  BP is doing PR, politicians are spinning it and trying to use it for their interests.  There are some that anger me more than others, but they’re all just creating so much noise.  There is noise at work too and I’m working hard to let the joyful noise in and filter out the bitterness and anger, but I feel like I’m contributing to the noise.  I need to find some silence, find some moments between the noise.  I will get some time to explore that silence this summer I think, no final word yet but the parameters of my job will probably shift.  Sigh.

It will give me time to work on my book.  So, lemons to lemonade.  I’m going to look on the bright side.

Besides, I’m looking forward to utilizing some of this “free” time.  I’ve got people to see, time to make up.  I want to spend some time reclaiming some everyday joy, so I will.

This Sunday I’m going to make a quick trip up to Duluth to see my friend Caity Shea in Our Town.  I’m hoping for some nice weather so that I can enjoy the lake a bit before I come back.  Monday is w00tstock at the Guthrie, looking forward to the nerdfest.  Somewhere in there I’m planning on catching Killers and Get Him to the Greek.

Right.  Watching Fame right now.  Have work in the morning.  Looking forward to the 20th.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

