ants marching

So, it is quarter to one in the morning as I type this and it is still 80 degrees out.  I think it’s safe to say that summer weather has begun.  It’s just too bad that it’s not quite summer yet.

I finished the schedule last week and once again it was a beast.  It’s the end of the year, so half the staff wants all sorts of time off or they’re just done for good, graduating from school or shifting over to other jobs.  That stuff coupled with a little dustup and I had a tricky schedule.  It came together, though I’ll be working more shifts than I’d hoped too and there will be some pretty long days involved.  But that’s the gig.  I’ll just be really looking forward to my vacation days beginning June 19th (followed by some unpaid time off?).

Tiff has left for the summer.  At some point Megan is coming back.  In the meantime I’ve got to get through work and get some progress on my writing project.

Last week Zack and I hung out a couple of times, which was nice.  It would have been better if I hadn’t been so fatigued, but that’s the way this spring is going.  Allergies are just wiping me out this year, so I am going to have my work cut out muscling through it.

My parents swung through town today and we got some lunch at Panera.  I loaded them up with a bag full of books that I’m sure will be devoured in less than a month … retirement has definitely upped the quantity of their reading.  I just can’t quite keep up anymore.  We had a good chat, some good food, and then they got back on their way in hopes of beating any traffic and getting home to watch the finale of 24.

I ended up taking a short snooze (they seem to happen now whenever I’m not actively doing something) while listening to Peter Wolf Crier’s album streaming on my laptop.  What I heard of it was great stuff.  Another local band that I’ll have to make an effort to check out (I really need to see No Bird Sing live this summer–love their first album and I had some classes with their lead singer).  So, two must listen groups, if you value my taste in music.

After the snooze I headed over to B&N and had a mocha frappacino (a slight change of pace from my normal vanilla mocha, but I felt that the 90+ degrees outside called for a cool beverage).  I read some stuff on Jeff Smith, the guy who did the wonderful series Bone (I need to get The Complete Bone and read the series in its entirety, I’ve only read small selections here and there).  I flipped through some other graphic novels and then found a new book by David Mamet called simply Theatre and it has jumped onto my must get list.  I’ve also begun work on novel project number three and I think I found some more depth for the story today past the main narrative question and story hook.  The theme for this story I think is:  Character is choice.  I’ll let you all know how that plays out.

After writing for a bit I went to the movie theater and watched MacGruber (I was in the mood for a comedy and everything I read about this movie indicated two things:  that it’d be mediocre at best, and that it may be one of the most insane comedies that gets released this year).  It lived up to everything that I expected.  It was very funny, though it dragged in places.  It sent up the big action movies from the 80’s (perfect timing with all the movies coming out based on 80’s properties) and was crude, idiosyncratic, obscene, graphic, insane, and absurdly funny.  Not one of the best movies I’ll see this year (or ever) but entertaining.

And now here I am.  I’m updating this journal, being crushed by photos of the devastation caused by the BP oil spill, and getting ready to crash out for a few hours.

Oh, and the ants are back in my apartment.  Sigh.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

