turn me on

I saw this and I like this …

I was never the biggest fan of the keep calm and carry on posters, though I didn’t get as irrationally angry about them as some people I know.  This one feels a little bit more … me.

So, tonight I finished one of my classes and tomorrow I’ll finish the other.  The final assignment for my Point of View class was a piece of flash fiction 600 words or less using one of the points of view from the second half of the semester.  This included Multiple POV, the collective “We”, and second person … as well as an assortment of odd ducks that we brought in to present last week.  I finally came up with a story told with a collective we direct address … and presenting it tonight went well.  Most of the time when my professor tells me, “okay, that was creepy.” it means I succeeded.  Perhaps I’ll post it later on.  Perhaps I’ll try submitting it a few places first.  We’ll see.  Tomorrow I have to figure out what my definition of “self” is for my last class of the term.

Yesterday I went to B&N and heard Swati Avasthi read from her new book Split, an intense YA book about what happens after you leave that abusive situation.  I haven’t read it yet since I just bought it last night, but I did read her short story Swallow for class (it was published in Water~Stone Review in 2008, I think).  She is an impressive writer.  I recommend checking out her writing.  She just finished her thesis defense at the U of M for another book that is currently titled Bidden, so hopefully that will be out soon.  After the reading I stopped at Target to pick up a few things and ended up picking up Volume Two by She and Him on cd (I still prefer getting the cd whenever it’s possible because I really like the tactile artifact, which is why I don’t see myself ever not buying physical books-even after I buy the inevitable nook or kindle or iPad.  As an art piece, the cd is great, with the lyrics book designed like a library punch card slid inside “volume two”.)  If you don’t know, half of She and Him is Zooey Deschanel …

That’s all I’ve got right now.  Going to figure out what self is and watch The Perfect Getaway … or just go to sleep.  It really could go either way right now.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

