break’s over

I’ve been on vacation for the last two weeks.  I don’t usually take vacation in the middle of April, I usually prefer to wait until the end of the season when there aren’t any shows or classes and enjoy a nice long break, but I was in a use it or lose it situation.  Two weeks of (relatively) dead time at work, so I took the days and stayed in town due to classes.

Well, that’s not entirely true.  I did visit my parents last weekend.  So I left town for a couple of days.

Wish I could say that I got a lot of writing done, but I didn’t.  I had a healthy stack of homework that occupied a good chunk of my time.  I also tried to use some of the vacation time to actually relax, which was nice.  I watched some movies, read a book for fun, drank coffee and saw some friends.

Books read:  Night and Day by Robert B. Parker (for fun), The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison, Cutting Through Spiritual Materialism, The Experience of No-Self, and a slew of short stories.  I also read the first Gossip Girl novel–partly out of curiosity, but mostly because I had to find a POV that we hadn’t covered in class for an assignment on the unlimited options of POV.  Gossip Girl is a weird omniscient POV from the perspective of a blogger.  I like choosing things that I know no one else in the class will think of (besides, I’m sure there is going to be enough heavy literature on the docket).

Movies watched:  Kick Ass, The Losers, Date Night, Smoking Aces 2: Assassins Ball, DeepStar Six, Superman/ Doomsday, Justice League: New Frontier, Sex Drive, Wedding Daze, Howard Zinn: You Can’t Be Neutral, Lenny Bruce: Without Tears, The Gospel According to Phillip K. Dick, The Desperate Trail, Catch and Release, Zombieland, Scream, and Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.  I think that’s all of them.  I watched a really dull movie called Why Has Bodhi-Dharma Left for the East? for class.  I also started watching a really funny show called Party Down (in addition to the other shows I’m trying to keep up with).

I bought a Blu-Ray player two weeks ago with some of my tax refund.  I have no interest right now in transferring my dvd collection to blu-ray, instead I got it primarily as an internet machine.  I finally bit the bullet and signed up for NetFlix (a hard decision to finally make, since Wal-Mart is a primary shareholder).  I got NetFlix for the streaming library (which is extensive) and for the dvds by mail secondarily.  I keep hearing that Hulu is going to begin charging for content, and that is on top of the less that desirable streaming that has been going on lately (in short, it sucks–constantly freezing during episodes, sometimes I need to leave and come back–not a good viewing experience).  This is too bad, because I think that it’s a great set-up–limited ads supporting television that can be watched whenever (because I really can’t watch stuff when it comes on, and judging by my Hulu queue, can’t watch it immediately after either).  Hard to make the time to go onto Hulu to watch stuff if it’s just going to freeze constantly and not let me watch an entire episode in an enjoyable manner.  Strange thing that I noted yesterday when watching an episode of Stargate: Universe was that when the ads didn’t load for the first two commercial breaks the streaming on the episode was fine, but when the ads started loading later the episode kept freezing.  So that’s lame.

So, now my vacation time is coming to an end.  I should have tomorrow off too, but it sounds like there is a shit-load that needs to be done at work before both shows open on Tuesday, so I may have to just suck it up and go in for a little while.  This means I have to try and get through all of my homework today since I won’t have tomorrow to do it.  Or Tuesday night since I’ll be working.  Sigh.  Break’s over.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

