cold

Since the Christmas blizzard it has been very, very cold here in the Twin Cities.  It is not the coldest part of the state and the last few days the temperature has been above zero for hours on end, though not very far above zero.  This is my furlough, my enforced payless vacation, and believe it or not, I’m rather happy to have it.  I’d be much happier, of course, if I hadn’t gotten a cold at its onset.  Days I could’ve spent receiving paid sick leave are now being wasted (I didn’t go to Duluth last Sunday, between my cold and Danea’s phone dying before she could give me details it was just out of the cards).  To this I can only sigh.  It’s almost gone, this cold, though the cold outside remains.

One of the things about having the temperature creep above zero is that now I’m hearing about a blizzard that is heading this way.  Of course, I pop over to Weather.com and they seem a bit conflicted about it:  in once sentence the say “blizzard or blizzard-like conditions” and then in another that we should expect an inch or two of snow … call me crazy, but in my years of living in Minnesota one to two inches does not a blizzard make.  At least not here; I can see how it can shut down a city if it happened in, I don’t know, Atlanta or Tampa Bay.

My goals for this break were to catch up on my reading, watch a few movies, relax, and get some writing done.  I managed to finish Ethan Canin’s America America earlier this week.  It is a beautiful and wonderful book.  I saw shades of Great Expectations in it, except the story is very much American.  It recounts one man’s interactions as a boy with a powerful family in his town and a Senator running for president during the early seventies and all the reverberations of those experiences.  It’s a big novel and well worth the read.  I haven’t yet started another book, I’ve just recently gotten the complete adventures of Sherlock Holmes and debating whether to read A Study in Scarlet or Nick Hornby’s Juliet, Naked or bounce between both.  This debate is magnified by my general restlessness and inability to concentrate due to the head gunk.

Movies are something I’ve caught up on, well, a little bit.  I watched the Hunter S. Thompson documentary Gonzo, as well as War, Inc and Burn After Reading.  I have several more stacked up in queue, but haven’t figured out what to watch next.  I’m thinking I’ll probably start with David Mamet’s Redbelt and go from there.

I did watch all twelve episodes of Community the other evening.  They were hilarious and I found a new comedy to love.  I also discovered that Black Books is on hulu.com, so I can watch all the episodes of that finally (I caught a few that I loved on BBC America when I had cable, but could never find out when the episodes ran regularly).

Been chatting online a bit with some friends and was going to hang out with Megan Thursday, but due to the storm it will probably get pushed to Friday or Saturday.  We were going to do a double feature of Nine and Sherlock Holmes (I saw it last week with Tiff and Zack and Erin, but loved it and would actually very much like to see it again) but we may par it down to one flick with the weekend prices.  I also cut my hair the other evening.  I have been toying with the idea of cutting it all off and then I did.  It’s now a quarter inch all over (when I say I want to cut all my hair off, I never mean shaving it clean–I imagine that there is probably a dent in the back of my head from when I cracked it open as a kid and really don’t fancy the idea of showcasing that) and I’m enjoying it very much.  Sort of starting from scratch on that front, for the new year.

I think I may head over to Dunn Bros. for a bit right now to read for a little while and perhaps scribble a few pages in my notebook.  We’ll see if I can work up the motivation, as it stands I only took my shower an hour ago.  Probably doesn’t bode well for my getting up and out, but we’ll see.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

