thirtysomething

I came to the cliff and I jumped and all was well.

This week has been a little crazy, which really is pretty normal now.  So, big new production.  Very tech heavy.  Lots of stress and complications.  We made it through.  It’ll be a good show.  I worked the first preview and that was crazy, but fine.  There were issues, the issues were confronted.  Class this week, it doesn’t seem to matter how prepared I try to be, I’m still going to up until 3AM it seems.  Most nights this week in fact.  I’m really very tired in general now, but revisions have begun on my project and I think that they are going well so far.  I’m meeting with my prof/ advisor on Wednesday before class for my mid-point advising.  Class registration is also starting Monday morning at 7AM, so it looks like I’ll be setting an alarm.

My birthday:  Thursday night I hung out with Libby.  We got pie and then watched music videos on youtube.  Quite the mix.  I am reminded though of why I’ve had a longtime crush on Alicia Silverstone.

Friday I worked.  I went in early for the holiday photo and just barely made it.  Slid in just in time for the last photo.  Nothing like having everyone you work with watch you run down a flight of stairs …  Then I had to make a run to Edina to get dilly bars.  When I got back, my department had a little party for me–it was pretty awesome.  Then it was a ton of last minute things that were stacked up until it was time for the show to open.  And it did and it went fine.  As soon as I was able I cut out (around 10:30) and drove home.  Tiff swung past and got me and we went over to Grumpy’s in Roseville.  Not too bad, good size and it wasn’t crazy busy.  Got some good food.  Zack showed up and Joanna came by and that was it.  Both Zack and Tiff said at different times that it was too bad more people didn’t show, but I’m okay with that.  If I had thrown a party and no one showed I would have been bummed, but I got to hang out with my friends, so it was all good.  After we closed down Grumpy’s we went to Perkins, and had some pie.  We got to laughing so hard that at times breathing was impossible.  Yeah, not too shabby.

Since I didn’t get to sleep until sometime after 4, I slept hard and long.  Zack came by around 1:30 and we went to get a late breakfast at Day by Day Cafe in St. Paul (one of my favorite places ever) and then we swung past Best Buy and then caught the late afternoon showing of Boondock Saints 2 (which was gleefully fantastic, so funny and violent and idiosyncratic …).  He dropped me at home then and took off.  I went over to B&N and picked up some birthday gifts for my mom and dad and then went home, watched the latest episode of Stargate: Universe on Hulu.com.  I chatted for a bit with my brother on the phone.  Then I chatted online with my friends Sara and Caity on facebook.  And I watched Simply Irresistible again (haven’t watched it for years … still love it).  So it was a full day.

I have a bunch of homework to do (I need to read three first chapters, each of which have two different versions), come up with questions for the writers who will be visiting class on Wednesday, revise 15 more pages, and type up process notes …

My parents are coming for a visit tomorrow.  They’ll get here sometime in the afternoon and then stay tomorrow night.  So, most of my work will need to get done Monday night.

So, now I’m a thirtysomething … and I’m completely fine with that!

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

