there and back again

This morning I woke up (on my couch, since that’s where I crashed last night at 2AM when all momentum that I had failed and I fell asleep), showered, put on a shirt and tie, and drove north in the rain while sipping green tea and eating chocolate croissants.  Why would I do such a thing?  To go to my friend Erin’s wedding.  I have several friends named Erin who have slipped in and out of my life over the years.  The former Ms. Lien is the one that I have called friend longest (this is because our parents were all friends before either of us were born, so we’ve known each other since birth).  It was a nice ceremony, small with lots of small children that wanted to be the one people were paying attention to.  It had some wonderfully clever moments (there was no flower girl, instead, a lovely little girl with blonde ringlets trotted down the aisle with a basket of red and yellow leaves).  I saw some folks that I haven’t seen for ten years or so and then I turned around and drove back.

So, I’m home again now.  But I still have the shirt and tie on.  We’ll see if I fall asleep in them again.

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

