dark and stormy

It was a dark and stormy night …

and day.  The winds from yesterday brought with them a fairly steady stream of rain, though it’s been described as “scattered showers”.  Really, the only thing that I’ve noticed scattered about them is that they are still falling as rain drops and not streams from a god-sized fire-hose.  But it’s okay, I like the rain.

It was a long day at work today, not anything to do with anything I was doing, I was just very tired.  I’ve been feeling pretty overwhelmed by everything for the last couple of weeks and it built to this week when I just didn’t seem like I had time to accomplish everything that I needed to do.  I was up late working on stuff, up early to go into work, and I fit “life” in around the edges.  I’m hitting into that wall now and I feel like I’m trying to get a grip to keep myself up.  I’m pretty sure that I’m getting a grip.  I get to sleep in a little tomorrow, that will help.

Tuesday night John Stanford was at B&N, so I hung in the back and listened to him for a few minutes.  I’ve never read any of his books and I’ve heard him speak before.  He didn’t seem to be covering anything new, at least nothing that would interest someone who hasn’t yet read his books, so I meandered on.  I had a lot of writing work to do and I needed to wander and stir up the story that was bubbling in my brain.  I eventually got to it, but it took a while and I was up late with that and other stuff.

Last night I had class, which I love.  The instructor is wonderful and I’m almost always stimulated in some way after class to get to it and create something.  I didn’t have any energy after last night’s class though, so I managed a few scribbled notes, read a chapter, and watched the new episode of Castle.

Tonight I went to B&N again to hear another author speak, Diana Gabaldon.  She had a HUGE audience there.  Something like 200+ people had gotten numbers to get books signed and some had chairs staked out since 2 this afternoon.  I’ve never read her stuff, but apparently she is a multi-genre writer with the main focuses being historical romance/ sci-fi/ fantasy.  Her books take place around the American Revolution, involve very tall scotsmen in kilts and a time-traveller.  She was promoting her seventh book and she’s got a great fan base.  I’m really not all that surprised that the largest readings/ signings that I’ve been present for have had a fantasy/ romance element to them.  I’ve been to some thriller/ mystery writer events that have a pretty good crowd, but that audience doesn’t seem as willing to turn out in droves to meet the writers as the fantasy/ romance ones (I should probably note that I haven’t been present at a reading/ signing for a horror writer or a straight romance writer and I imagine that those would draw enormous crowds as well).  The fantasy genre especially seems to draw out readers who want to take part in the experience of reading, even if it is just hearing the writer speak and getting a book signed, than other readers.  I have no empirical data to support this, of course, this is just a general observation based on what I’ve witnessed in my town.

So, it’s still raining outside and I’m now home again in my apartment.  I’m exhausted, but not ready for sleep.  I’d like to try and get some reading or writing done, but I just don’t quite have the energy in enough supply.  I’ll probably put a movie in and collapse on my couch for a bit.

Work tomorrow.  Wedding Saturday.  Sunday and Monday is all about the homework, again.  And of course Monday night I have class and the cycle continues …

More later …

Published by: Thomas Rohde

Artist // Writer // Theatre Professional // Nerd // Night Owl Inspired by a steady and lifelong infusion of pop culture, comic books, and a vast assortment of films and books, our friendly neighborhood blogger has doomed himself to a life of creative pursuits. There's not enough time for everything, but we all do what we can. Artist: of watercolor, ink, comic illustration, horror/ sci-fi/ fantasy art. Writer: of fictions, tweets, captions & blogs. Lover: coffee, whiskey, wine & beer. Instagram and Twitter as @demipho

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

